Food and Fertilizer

The UN aid ledger for Yemen has a line for agriculture. It reads zero.

The United Nations Financial Tracking Service records US$498,650,826 reported for Yemen so far this year. Food Security has US$94,837,390 of it. Agriculture has nothing at all. The hunger assessment those figures answer to has meanwhile stopped covering roughly two thirds of Yemenis, and its famine column reads zero because the places that were in it are no longer counted.

Two public ledgers describe Yemen. One counts money and one counts hungry people. Both are open, both are free, and neither returns anything to a plain automated request, which is why the figures below had to be read in a rendered browser.

Read side by side, they do not describe the same country.

What the money ledger says

The Financial Tracking Service is run by the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs. Donors report to it. It stamps its own pages with a date, and on the day this was read that date was 7 August 2026, the same day.

Yemen, all reported humanitarian fundingAmount
2024, full yearUS$2,755,797,716
2025, full yearUS$1,634,451,283
2026, to 7 AugustUS$498,650,826
2026 Humanitarian Needs and Response Plan, requiredUS$2,162,600,000
2026 plan, fundedUS$433,500,000, or 20.0 percent

Measured UN OCHA Financial Tracking Service, Yemen country pages for 2024, 2025 and 2026, read 7 August 2026 and carrying that date. Sixty percent of 2026 had elapsed on that date. FTS records what donors report to it, so every figure here is a reporting total and not an audit of money delivered.

Broken down by sector, the 2026 total sits like this. These are the six largest lines and the one that is empty.

Sector, Yemen 2026 to 7 AugustReported
Food SecurityUS$94,837,390
ProtectionUS$87,058,125
HealthUS$77,302,328
Multi-sectorUS$49,783,401
Not specifiedUS$49,689,222
Water, Sanitation and HygieneUS$28,605,436
NutritionUS$16,081,069
AgricultureUS$0

Measured FTS Yemen 2026, sector view, 7 August 2026. Agriculture is a live category in that table with a heading of its own. The figure against it is zero, not blank and not absent.

Set that zero against what the hunger assessment says drives the hunger. The IPC snapshot published on 21 May 2026 records that around 60 percent of Yemeni households rely on agriculture, that domestic production meets only 25 to 30 percent of national food needs, and that rising costs and reduced availability of agricultural inputs, naming fertilisers specifically, threaten the coming production season.

Agriculture is a development category as much as a humanitarian one, and money for seeds and fertiliser can reach a farmer through the Food Security line or through a development budget that never appears in this ledger at all. What we can report is that the humanitarian ledger has a column for the thing the hunger assessment names, and this year that column has nothing in it.

The largest single recipient outside the UN clears landmines

Sorted by who received the money rather than what it was for, the 2026 table puts three UN agencies at the top and then a company.

Recipient, Yemen 2026 to 7 AugustReported
World Food ProgrammeUS$60,336,117
International Organization for MigrationUS$58,810,499
Dynasafe International GroupUS$52,531,169
Danish Refugee CouncilUS$50,051,955
Yemen Humanitarian FundUS$34,758,203
UNICEFUS$29,623,318
UN High Commissioner for RefugeesUS$16,537,442
UN Population FundUS$4,106,349
World Health OrganizationUS$2,293,578
Food and Agriculture OrganizationUS$1,699,274

Measured FTS Yemen 2026, recipient view, 7 August 2026.

Dynasafe is the delivery contractor for Project Masam, the Saudi landmine clearance programme in Yemen funded through KSrelief. Project Masam states this on its own site, and names Dynasafe Middle East Project Management as the managing entity.

The arithmetic, which is the point. That one contractor has received US$52,531,169 this year. UNHCR, UNFPA, the World Health Organization and the Food and Agriculture Organization have received US$24,636,643 between the four of them. The landmine clearance contractor has more than twice the four of them combined.

The sector table reads differently. FTS records US$4,759,515 under Protection, Mine Action for 2026. Dynasafe alone received more than ten times that, so the remainder is filed under other sector codes.

Where the fall in the headline total actually sits

The total fell from US$1.63 billion in 2025 to US$498.7 million so far in 2026, and the obvious reading is that humanitarian assistance to Yemen has been cut by two thirds. The recipient tables do not support that reading.

Recipient2025 full year2026 to 7 Aug
Yemen, Government ofUS$369,427,786US$11,196,511
Not specifiedUS$438,675,971US$0
World Food ProgrammeUS$183,610,077US$60,336,117
UNICEFUS$69,321,424US$29,623,318
Dynasafe International GroupUS$52,994,413US$52,531,169
International Committee of the Red CrossUS$49,910,338US$24,849,143
Danish Refugee CouncilUS$42,047,669US$50,051,955
CARE InternationalUS$38,579,180US$22,079,135

Measured FTS Yemen recipient views for 2025 and 2026, read 7 August 2026. The 2025 column is a completed year. The 2026 column is 60 percent of a year. Any comparison between them is a comparison of unequal periods.

Two lines carry most of the fall, and neither is a food parcel. Money recorded as going to the Government of Yemen fell by US$358 million between those two columns, and the Not specified line fell by US$439 million. Together that is US$797 million of a US$1,136 million difference.

Delivered programme money reads differently, and it does not read the same way for everyone. At 60 percent of the year: the World Food Programme has 33 percent of its 2025 total, UNICEF has 43 percent, and the Red Cross has 50 percent. The Danish Refugee Council has 119 percent, having already passed its whole 2025 figure. The landmine clearance contractor has 99 percent.

The United States does not appear

The 2026 donor table lists 59 reporting entities. The Government of the United States is not one of them.

United States, reported funding to YemenAmount
2024, Government of the United StatesUS$726,634,769
2025, Government of the United StatesUS$29,480,195
2025, United States Department of StateUS$12,500,000
2026 to 7 August, any United States government entityno line

Measured FTS Yemen donor views for 2024, 2025 and 2026, read 7 August 2026. Two American private fundraising bodies do appear in 2026, the United States Fund for UNICEF at US$14,089 and USA for UNHCR at US$590,775. Neither is a government entity.

Unconfirmed An absent line means nothing was reported. It does not prove nothing was given. FTS is a voluntary reporting system, and a donor that stops filing disappears from it whether or not the money stopped. No statement from any United States department on Yemen humanitarian funding for 2026 has been published. What is reported here is that the record stopped.

Canada is the fourth largest reporting donor

Largest reporting donors, Yemen 2026 to 7 AugustAmount
European Commission humanitarian departmentUS$103,374,845
Saudi ArabiaUS$101,773,636
United KingdomUS$65,238,802
CanadaUS$26,777,102
Republic of KoreaUS$25,950,207
GermanyUS$25,330,614
JapanUS$24,471,445

Measured FTS Yemen 2026 donor view, 7 August 2026. Canada is fourth by single reporting entity. Grouped by country it is fifth, because the German development bank KfW at US$16,218,457 is counted with Germany, which takes the German grouping to US$41.8 million. Both statements are true and they are true of different tables.

Canada reported US$48,272,637 for the whole of 2025. It has reported US$26,777,102 by 7 August 2026, which is 55 percent of last year's figure at 60 percent of the year. The individual flow records that were visible name CARE International, the World Food Programme, UNICEF, UNHCR, Save the Children, the International Committee of the Red Cross, the Yemen Humanitarian Fund and OCHA itself as destinations. Saudi Arabia reported US$912,696,792 in 2025 against US$101,773,636 so far this year, and the recipient tables above indicate that the larger part of the 2025 Saudi figure sat in the Government of Yemen and Not specified lines rather than in delivered programmes.

The other ledger stopped counting most of the country

The Integrated Food Security Phase Classification is the standard against which famine is declared. Its Yemen analysis in force was published on 21 May 2026, with data to 20 April 2026. It is labelled a partial analysis, and the population it covers is stated on its own face.

IPC Yemen, Government-controlled areas, 10,479,422 people analysedPhase 3 or abovePhase 4Phase 5
March to May 2026, current4,980,505 (47%)1,403,2140
June to September 2026, lean season5,361,223 (51%)1,637,3400
October to December 2026, harvest5,372,564 (51%)1,786,0010

Confirmed IPC Acute Food Insecurity Snapshot, Yemen Government-Controlled Areas, March to December 2026, published 21 May 2026. Figures taken from the governorate tables in that document, not from a summary of it. All 12 governorates analysed are in Phase 3 or above in the current period. Phase 3 is labelled Crisis in the IPC scale, Phase 4 Emergency, Phase 5 Famine or Catastrophe.

The analysis before it was published on 27 June 2025 and covered Government-controlled areas and Sana'a-based-authority areas together. It found over 17 million people in Phase 3 or above and projected 18.1 million, which it stated was 52 percent of the population analysed. Its validity period ended on 28 February 2026.

By the IPC's own percentages, that analysis covered about 35 million people. It put 11.9 million in Phase 3 and called that 34 percent of the analysed population, which gives roughly 35 million. The analysis that replaced it covers 10,479,422. Somewhere near 24.5 million people who were in the previous count are not in the current one, and the IPC Yemen country page lists no later analysis covering them.

OCHA's 2026 response plan puts people in need in Yemen at 23.1 million. The food security assessment in force examines 10.5 million.

The zero in the famine column is not a measurement

The current analysis records zero people in Phase 5, in every governorate, in all three periods. The previous analysis did not.

It projected around 41,000 people in Phase 5 for September 2025 to February 2026, and it named where: Abs and Kushar in Hajjah governorate, Az Zuhrah in Al Hodeidah governorate, and Al Ashah in Amran governorate.

Hajjah and Amran do not appear in the current analysis at all. The twelve governorates it covers are Abyan, Ad Dali', Aden, Al Hodeidah, Al Jawf, Al Maharah, Hadramawt, Lahj, Ma'rib, Shabwah, Socotra and Ta'iz. Two of the three governorates that held the only Phase 5 populations the IPC has recorded in Yemen are outside the current count.

Unconfirmed The third is open. Al Hodeidah is in the current analysis, but only 182,022 of its people are, which is a fraction of that governorate. Whether Az Zuhrah district specifically is inside or outside that fraction turns on the district list in the full IPC report.

What the zero therefore is. It is a true statement about the ten and a half million people who were examined. It is not a statement about Yemen. A reader, or a search engine, that takes it as one has been misled by a correctly reported number.

What this does to a household

This publication exists to trace what an event does to what an ordinary person pays, eats or relies on. For a Canadian household reading this, the honest chain is short and it is not a grocery bill.

Nothing in this article shows Yemen moving the price of anything in a Canadian supermarket. Yemen is a food importer, not an exporter.

The chain that does close is the public purse. Canada has reported US$26,777,102 to this response in 2026 and US$48,272,637 in 2025. Canada is also a named funding agency of the IPC itself, listed on the IPC's own pages alongside the European Union, UK aid and German cooperation. Canadian money pays for both ledgers described above, the one that counts the money and the one that counts the hungry. One of them has stopped covering roughly two thirds of the country.

Sources and verification

Addresses below are printed in full so you can copy one and check us. We do not link out.

Every money figure, all years, all views. UN OCHA Financial Tracking Service, Yemen country pages. Read 7 August 2026 by rendering each page in a browser, and each page carries its own “data as of 7 August 2026” stamp. Summary, donor, sector, recipient and individual flow views were each read separately. Measured https://fts.unocha.org/countries/248/summary/2026 https://fts.unocha.org/countries/248/donors/2026 https://fts.unocha.org/countries/248/sectors/2026 https://fts.unocha.org/countries/248/recipients/2026 https://fts.unocha.org/countries/248/donors/2025 https://fts.unocha.org/countries/248/recipients/2025 https://fts.unocha.org/countries/248/donors/2024

The current hunger figures, the 10,479,422 analysed population, the governorate list, the agriculture and fertiliser findings, and the Phase 5 zeroes. IPC Acute Food Insecurity Snapshot, Yemen Government-Controlled Areas, March to December 2026, published 21 May 2026, data to 20 April 2026. Read in full 7 August 2026. Confirmed https://www.ipcinfo.org/fileadmin/user_upload/ipcinfo/docs/IPC_Yemen_GoY_Acute_Food_Insecurity_Mar_Dec2026_Snapshot.pdf

The release date, validity period and partial-analysis label. IPC country analysis page for the March to December 2026 Yemen analysis. Confirmed https://www.ipcinfo.org/ipc-country-analysis/details-map/en/c/1163308/

The 17 million and 18.1 million figures, the 34 and 52 percent shares, the 41,000 people in Phase 5 and the four districts naming them, and the 28 February 2026 expiry. IPC country analysis page for the May 2025 to February 2026 Yemen analysis, released 27 June 2025. Confirmed https://www.ipcinfo.org/ipc-country-analysis/details-map/en/c/1159662/

That no later analysis covers the Sana'a-based-authority areas. IPC Yemen country page, listing all analyses in date order. Confirmed https://www.ipcinfo.org/ipcinfo-website/where-what/asia/yemen/en/

The 23.1 million people in need. UN OCHA Yemen Humanitarian Needs and Response Plan 2026 overview page, figure stated as at launch, December 2025. Confirmed https://humanitarianaction.info/plan/1520

That Dynasafe delivers Project Masam and that Project Masam is Saudi-funded landmine clearance. Project Masam, official programme site. A statement by the programme about itself. Confirmed https://projectmasam.com/eng/masam/

Nothing published here is investment, legal or security advice. We report what has already happened and what it is recorded as costing. We do not forecast and we do not tell you what to do. Corrections are published in the open and logged, never made by silent edit.